New Media Diet

Posted: May 7, 2011 by emreale in Uncategorized

When Spring semester started, I believed every source and every author I read or heard.  But while taking this class, I realized you cannot trust every thing you hear. You have to be skeptical of everything and question it all.

I never had blogged before in my life, and once I started blogging, I was opened up to so many people’s opinions and thoughts on certain controversial subjects.  I sort of just ignore the news since usually it is depressing it never has anything to do with me, so why make myself upset? But I really enjoy blogging because the issues people blog about are not depressing or upsetting, they are full of life and are truly very interesting. This class has such a creative mind which influences other students to use WordPress as well and expand on their own ideas. I never thought I’d actually enjoy blogging, but I really did.

Other types of media I never used included Twitter. I never thought of Twitter being a source that I would ever follow or catch on to. This summer I created an account but never really used it. Now, knowing that I first heard about the death of Osama Bin Laden through Twitter really makes me realize how much I rely on it for fast communication. I check my twitter constantly now that I know I can receive information so quickly. Despite the rate at which I can have communication, I still have to question it. When I heard Osama was dead, the first thing I did was to check a more reliable source, CNN. Twitter is great for mass communication, but you still have to make sure it is true.

This class has opened up my mind a lot about the media. I never paid any attention to it at first, but now I am slowly starting to care more about it.

Leave a Reply

