Embracing Twitter

Posted: May 6, 2011 by fmed77 in Uncategorized

When this semester began, I never would have thought of Twitter as a legitimate way to consume news and information. My idea of Twitter was that it was just Facebook status updates with a twist, and that is was really only a novel social networking tool.

As the months passed, and I began to really look at Twitter more objectively, I realized that it could be and was being used for breaking and up to the minute news and information, whether or not it is life threatening.

What I like about Twitter is that you don’t need an account to see what is going on and you are able to access most people’s news feeds, especially famous people in the media and celebrity world. I have even considered creating my own account and deciding which people to follow who I believe would be important and interesting to the news and entertainment that impacts me the most.

This class has changed my opinion of Twitter and other “unorthodox” ways of social networking and staying connected. I plan on embracing the next phenomenon that comes into our world, and hopefully it will be just as exciting and multifaceted as Twitter.

Leave a Reply

