My Media Diet

Posted: May 4, 2011 by clgiblin in Uncategorized

Over the past several weeks, my media consumption has seemed to increase a little bit. I have always read the newspaper, but usually not everyday. Recently, I have started to read it almost everyday online. I like to be informed of what is going on in not only the U.S., but also the world. My use of Facebook has definitely increased over the past several weeks as well. This is because a few of my friends are studying abroad in Ireland and are not able to use their cell phones. Facebook makes it possible for us to stay connected and update each other on what is going on in our lives. Messaging on Facebook to my friends is also a lot easier than texting sometimes, especially if it is something long and I am not able to talk to them on the phone.

My biggest change in media consumption though, would probably be the way I view the news. Before I started this class, I would really only watch one news channel and then turn the TV off, walking away believing what I had just heard. Now after taking Communication and Society, I have learned not to believe everything I hear. It is important to question things, since I am not able to be everywhere in the world at once to validate if what has happened is true or not. I have learned that watching more than one source of news is probably a good idea in order to get a well-rounded intake of  the news. Although Facebook is not a very reliable source, when something has just happened, it is often the first place I hear it from, such as the killing of bin Laden. It is weird to think that a social networking website could give your information about what is happening in the world before hearing it on the news. If I see multiple status updates or even one that I am curious about, I make sure to search around for a reliable source to see if it actually is true.

I feel that my media consumption has increased a little bit over this semester. I still use social networking sites and consume the news, but I have definitely increased this consumption and look at them in different ways than before. There are so many different ways of receiving information now, that it is almost mandatory that people make sure they are reading or hearing from credible sources. People are able to express their opinions more freely because of the Internet, making it much more difficult to rely on them as credible. This is one concept from class that is going to stay with me for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

