Information Overload; how my diet expanded

Posted: May 4, 2011 by kellyrachael in Uncategorized

Well it’s that time of the year when we are asked to sum up everything we learned in one last blog post. Not so much learned, but elaborate on how our media diet has changed over the past few months. To be quite honest, I don’t think I have ever analyzed or dissected anything this much before; let alone topics I actually find interesting. As a result of the countless class sessions we would search to find the “deeper meaning” in various media outlets, I now have drastically changed the way I access and view media. And let me tell you, this is a good thing. Prior to this class I was never too fond of computers. I honestly would turn my brand new Macbook on to complete my homework assignments and shut it off right after so I could continue on with my day. My friends all thought I was crazy, and would often wonder if I even owned a computer. I just simply didn’t find the need to stalk strangers on Facebook for hours, or read tweets about people whom I’ll never meet. I simply figured that if there was a drastic newsbreak or epic current event I could find out by watching the news every morning. Boy, how that has changed.

In terms of my consumption, I would say I am more “in the know” now then I ever thought possible. Prior to this class I didn’t even know how to tweet, and still thought a #trending topic was the latest blouse every girl was wearing. I now go on Twitter almost every morning while simultaneously watching The Today Show. I figure, what’s better than a double dose of news every morning to get my day started. I now can find out current events from the New York Times and the latest workout tips from Women’s Health all in one place. What could be better than that? Oh, maybe the amount of followers Justin Bieber has accumulated…nah probably not. This class opened my eyes to how influential Twitter can actually be, and man it’s bigger then I ever imagined. I’m not addicted by any means; I simply just enjoy performing the same routine each morning. I find comfort in the consistency of knowing that I can always rely on these outlets to provide me with everything I need to know.

When it comes to reading and watching the news, I remain an avid follower on both accounts. I continue to receive the weekender package of the Times from my mother, and read it religiously. Now more then ever though I find myself accessing newspapers online as well. I always just assumed that everything written in The Wall-Street Journal would go right over my head. Once you started introducing articles to our class, I realized that I could actually fathom this material. In no way am I reading this paper everyday but if I come across an article or two I won’t hesitate to read on now.

Also, before this class I thought blogs were just for emo kids without any friends as a way to share their feelings with the world. I mean, clearly I have always read sports blogs but I didn’t know the amount of amateurs out there who were actually capable of writing half decent material. It’s a totally new style of writing, and although it’s hard for me to step outside of the formal writing I have grown so accustomed too…it’s somewhat relaxing to just write what I feel without thinking too much into it. Now, by no means am I going to create my own blog, because I simply don’t think my life is that interesting. But kudos to those of you who have. Because it truly is going to be the future of journalism. No one wants to read long elaborate stories anymore, they just want you to deliver the cold hard facts in the shortest length possible.

So all in all, it’s not that I was completely depriving myself before, but I have now definitely expanded my “diet” to include a plethora of new things. Let’s just say I include a better assortment, a wider variety and sometimes I even like to spice it up and try something new. I mean let’s not get crazy, I still have my favorite media outlets and will continue to access them on the reg but I’ll throw something different into the mix every now and then.

So Lerner, cheers for expanding my diet, my nutritionist thanks you.

Leave a Reply

