The Grammys: Do We Even Care Anymore?

Posted: February 18, 2011 by fmed77 in Uncategorized

According to Nielsen figures, yes. The ratings went up for the 2011 Grammys, which aired on Sunday February 13, compared to the 2010 show, but in my view, it doesn’t seem that people really care that much. Unless there is a Taylor-Kanye moment, do you ever hear anyone really talk about the show?

Well, I’m sure some of you have, but I haven’t. To me, the Oscars is the ultimate award show. It’s the show that has everyone talking, that has everyone watching, and it’s an honor that is the most esteemed in the entertainment industry. The Grammys of course have value to the artists who win them, but it seems to be less about the quality of the music nominated and more about the hype surrounding the individual song or artist. The same could be said for such award shows as the Oscars, but there are always those moments where the underdog actor or film comes out on top, besting even the veterans that always fill each category.

Each year, the Grammys always attempts to be inclusive to all age groups. Last year, legends Stevie Nicks and Elton John joined their younger counterparts on stage, and this year it was Barbra Streisand and Bob Dylan. But to me, the Grammys is not a show that I would willingly watch with my parents. In fact, the aforementioned “older” artists are more my own taste than the current artists being played on Top 40 radio.

Maybe it’s because I have a more cynical perspective on the issue, but I just can’t stomach the mediocre-to-crappy performances (although some are memorable), and the obvious winners that by next year no one will even care about anymore. If there were more enduring artists out there, like Stevie Nicks and Bob Dylan, maybe for me, that would make the Grammys something that I would actually care about.

Leave a Reply

