Political Turmoil in Egypt

Posted: January 27, 2011 by Abouelmakarem in Uncategorized

As I was watching the morning news a few days ago, I was surprised to see a story on Egypt and the political protests that are currently underway. I read in an article that this protest has crossed all social classes, ideologies, and religions to form a unifed nation against the government. I know that the Egyptian people have been unhappy with their president, Hosni Mubarak, who has been the president now for 29 years. Yes, one can imagine that someone who has ruled for almost three decades would not be the most popular, and finally the general public is taking their stand. Being an Egyptian citizen and having lived there for over 4 years of my adolescent life, I can safely say that the government under Mubarak has been corrupt at best. I personally witnessed things that were corrupt and unjust such as ridiculous curfews imposed on the youth to keep protests at bay. They set a curfew where a group of young men (more than 2) could not be out in the streets after 10:00. My cousin was arrested and jailed for breaking this curfew – as he was leaving work (around 11:30) and in the company of my 13 year old cousin and his coworker.

I am happy that the people are finally taking stand against an oppressive regime and fighting for their rights, in a country where the elite rule the common people and take all of the resources with them. Although I do not in any way condone violence, I hope that these planned peaceful protests give the younger generations a more liberal and free society.

Leave a Reply

