College Presidents Want Lower Drinking Age

Posted: January 25, 2011 by SConnor in Uncategorized

I found this article to be quite interesting. I have heard of rally’s to lower the nations drinking age to 18 from 21 but never heard of it coming from a College President. I don’t think that this is very logical of them. Lowering the drinking age would encourage more drunk student going about the campus. There is a difference for lowering the age to 18 for people willing to give up their lives for this country and just to have fun. If you are 18 and in the army, navy, marines, or any U.S. military force out there, you should have the right to go around and buy drinks at the age of 18. People in the military should have the right to drink at 18 since they are protecting this country from mayhem. I am a college student myself at 19 years old. Even though people at my school are not the legal drinking age, I noticed that they still obtain alcohol with no problem. Lowering a college’s drinking age to 18 would just make it easier for students to drink and not get in trouble for their actions, which could lead to many cases of alcohol poising due to the fact that they probably won’t have control. So in my opinion, I think this is a bad idea and should not be done; it shouldn’t have even been thought up.

Here is a link to the article: http://www.nysun.com/national/college-presidents-want-lower-drinking-age/

Comments
  1. clgiblin says:

    You make a good point. I agree that the drinking age for college students should not be lowered. Lowering the drinking age, I feel, would cause a lot more problems on campus and for the school. Students would then be able to drink without getting in trouble constantly. I think having a drinking age of 21 helps students to learn their control. If they get in trouble for drinking underage, then they are able to learn from their mistakes. If the drinking age was 18, I don’t think students would be able to learn control and many problems would result from it.

  2. KLerner says:

    So this article is two years old. Did you notice? I only did because I happen to know that the newspaper it appeared in is now out of business. Any idea what happened to this movement?

    And a related question: what does it mean that articles can sit around on the Internet forever now?

  3. bretthouseal1 says:

    I believe that the drinking age should be lowered and these young adults should be able to drink in a social, but controlled environment to help teach them self control while drinking. I blame the drinking age of twenty-one as the direct reason for why young adults drink so irresponsibly. Since teenagers feel it is a rebellion to drink, that they are more inclined to drink more that someone over the age of the legal drinking.

  4. SeanConnor says:

    I did not notice that the newspaper that this article appeared in is now out of business, but this means that anything that you put on the internet will always be there in some way or form. Even after you think you’ve deleted what you have just posted, it is still just floating around on the web.

Leave a Reply

